Due to precautions related to COVID-19, We have expanded our options for remote consultations. Please contact our office to discuss whether a full phone consultation or video conference is appropriate for your situation.

This is an advertisement

This Is Where People Come To Start Healing

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Dui Defense
  4.  » What are the penalties for drunk driving in Kentucky?

What are the penalties for drunk driving in Kentucky?

| Mar 27, 2020 | Dui Defense |

Government officials in Kentucky use the terminology driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) interchangeably. Collectively, they refer to an instance in which a person gets behind the wheel of their car while under the influence of alcohol, prescription, over-the-counter or illegal drugs and even inhalants such as gasoline, glue and spray paint. There are stiff penalties associated with this crime here in Frankfort and other parts of Kentucky.

An individual who is convicted of their first DUI offense in 10 years may have their driver’s license suspended between 30 and 120 days. That same person may also be ordered to complete a 90-day substance abuse or alcohol program.

Anyone convicted of a second DUI/DWI offense within a 10-year time frame may have their driver’s license suspended for between 12 and 18 months. That same individual may be ordered to spend a year in an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program as well.

Individuals who are convicted of their third DWI offense in Kentucky within a single 10-year period may have their driver’s license suspended for anywhere from 24 to 36 months. That same defendant will generally be required to complete at least a year in a substance abuse or alcohol treatment program also.

Anyone who is convicted of their fourth DUI charge within a 10-year time frame may have their driver’s license taken away for as long as five years. That same defendant may also have to complete a year in a substance abuse treatment program.

Any Kentucky residents who have been convicted of two or more drunk driving offenses may be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car after completing their suspension period. That piece of equipment will not allow them to start their vehicle if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .02% or more. A Shelbyville or Frankfort motorist may also have their license plates confiscated for the duration of their suspension.

A suspended license and participation in a substance abuse treatment program are guaranteed if you’re convicted of DUI/DWI here in Kentucky. You may face additional penalties including fines and jail time if you’re convicted of such a crime as well. Your attorney can advise you of what type of punishment you’re facing if you’re convicted of such a serious offense here.